

On Tuesday, August 13, 2024, partisan primaries were held across the State of Wisconsin. Below are the results from some of the races that we were watching closely.

United States Congress

- U.S. Senate (Republican Primary) Eric Hovde. Three Republicans sought to challenge current Wisconsin U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D). Eric Hovde prevailed in the Republican primary over Rejani Raveendran and Charles Barman.
- U.S. Congressional District 3 (Democratic Primary) Rebecca Cooke: Three Democrats battled each other in the Democratic primary for a chance to challenge first-term Republican U.S. Rep. Derrick Van Orden in the 3rd Congressional district. Rebecca Cooke prevailed in the Democratic primary over State Rep. Katrina Shankland (D-Stevens Point) and Eric Wilson (Eau Claire).
- U.S. Congressional District 8 OPEN (Republican Primary) Tony Wied: U.S. Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-CD 8) retired this year leaving his seat open. Three Republicans ran in the primary for the chance to be on the November ballot. Tony Wied, a businessman from DePere, defeated State Sen. André Jacque (R-De Pere) and former state Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton) for a chance to be on the ballot opposite Kristin Lyerly, a physician from DePere.

Wisconsin State Senate

- Senate District 4 OPEN (Democratic Primary) Dora Drake: Current State Rep. Dora Drake beat current State Rep. LaKeshia Myers (both D-Milwaukee) in the primary for the Senate seat previously held by Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee), who resigned earlier this year after being appointed to the Milwaukee County Circuit Court. Drake will not face a Republican challenger for this seat in November.
- Senate District 16 OPEN (Democratic Primary) Melissa Ratcliff: The SD-16 was left open when current State Senator Melissa Agard (D-Madison) announced she was not seeking reelection to the Senate because she is running for Dane County executive. (NOTE: Agard won the Democratic primary for County Exec.) Current State Rep. Melissa Ratcliff (D-Cottage Grove) prevailed in the three-way Democratic primary over Reps. Jimmy Anderson (D-Fitchburg) and Samba Baldeh (D-Madison). She will not face a Republican challenger in November.

 Senate District 20 OPEN (Republican Primary) – Dan Feyen: State Senator Dan Feyen (currently, R-Fond du Lac, representing SD 18) beat former Rep. Tim Ramthun (R-Campbellsport in the 2021-22 session) in the primary in this newly drawn district. Ramthun challenged Feyen based on his platform challenging the GOP establishment. He also unsuccessfully sought the party's nomination for governor in 2022.

Wisconsin State Assembly

- Assembly District 4 (Republican Primary) David Steffen: Incumbent State Rep. David Steffen (R-Green Bay) defeated challenger Darwin Behnke, father of current State Rep. Elijah Behnke (R-Oconto, currently AD 89, now running for AD 6).
- Assembly District 6 (Republican Primary) Elijah Behnke: Two current State Representatives, Peter Schmidt (R-Bonduel) and Rep. Elijah Behnke (R-Oconto, currently AD 89), faced each other in the primary for the newly drawn AD-6.
- Assembly District 19 (Democratic Primary) Ryan Clancy: Incumbent State Rep. Ryan Clancy (D-Milwaukee) beat challenger attorney Jarrod Anderson (D-Milwaukee).
- Assembly District 24 OPEN (Republican Primary) Dan Knodl: Current State Sen. Dan Knodl (R-Germantown – currently SD-8) easily defeated State Rep. Janel Brandtjen (R-Menomonee Falls – currently AD-22), setting the stage for Knodl to return to the State Assembly. Knodl beat Brandtjen in a February 2023 primary on his way to winning a special election for the 8th SD. But he decided to make a bid to return to the Assembly, where he served for 14 years, after he was drawn into a state Senate seat with fellow Republican Duey Stroebel (R-Saukville).
- Assembly District 25 (Republican Primary) Paul Tittl: Incumbent Rep. Paul Tittl (R-Manitowoc) defeated challenger David Wage, a former Manitowoc County Board member and retired owner and CEO of a tube bending and fabrication company.
- Assembly District 37 (Republican Primary) Mark Born: Incumbent Rep. Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam), who is the Assembly co-chair of the Joint Committee on Finance, easily defeated a primary challenge from Steve Rydzewski (Beaver Dam).
- Assembly District 40 OPEN (Democratic Primary) Karen DeSanto: The current State Rep. Dave Considine (D-Baraboo) for this seat decided not seek reelection. The current AD 40 incumbent State Rep. Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca) was affected by redistricting and redrawn into the 57th (see below).

In this open seat three-way Dem primary, Karen DeSanto (Baraboo) prevailed over Brad Cook (Pardeeville) and Kyle Kunicki (Merrimac).

- Assembly District 55 (Republican Primary) Nate Gustafson: Incumbent State Rep. Nate Gustafson (R-Fox Crossing) beat current Rep. Michael Schraa (R-Oshkosh, currently AD 53) in the primary in the 55th. These two were paired due to redistricting.
- Assembly District 57 OPEN (Republican Primary) Kevin Petersen: Rep. Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca, currently AD 40), who was redrawn into this district, easily defeated Duane Wilson (Waupaca) to secure the Republican spot on the November ballot.
- Assembly District 86 (Republican Primary) John Spiros: Incumbent State Rep. John Spiros (R-Marshfield) beat State Rep. Donna Rozar (R-Marshfield, currently AD 69), who was paired with him in the newly drawn district, and a second challenger, Trine Spindler (Stratford).
- Assembly District 99 OPEN (Republican Primary) Barbara Dittrich: Barbara Dittrich (R-Oconomowoc, currently AD 38) who was redrawn into the new 99th defeated Republican challenger, Jeffrey Pfannerstill, the Hartland Village President.